Snow Shouter

In a push of encouragement to blog more, get winter butt off sofa etc I signed up for campaign blogging.  What it will be ?  I have no idea but then I had no idea when I had to ‘sell’ me.  Never been good at the pushing me into the centre.  What makes me different, unique?  Humm

I have general interests – gardening, cooking, my dogs, family, crafts.  But how do I stand out from the crowd?  Is it the excitement when I realised a bush in our garden was covered in butterflies or the delight of watching the birds attack a fat ball in the garden during the recent visit from ‘the Beast of the East’.  I suffered from making me unique when I left work and had to put into my tax return form what my occupation was, and after much thought and in a touch of grandiose (well the cause of death on my Dad’s death certificate was “frailty of old age” – would imagine that is not a much used term)  I put down glass-engraver.  Charity Trustee would be run of the mill and at the time I was presenting a show once a week on a community radio station, so I could hardly put ‘radio presenter’.

For this campaign malarkey I had a thought about what made me different and it was the act caught doing recently.  Everyone has been enjoying the snow, the inability to travel anywhere, building igloos and trying to track down the elusive milk and bread.  I had reached my limit of walking the dogs separately through foot high snow as one doesn’t like the heavy snow and can’t walk and the other one bounces along like Tigger.  When another snow flurry started I didn’t realise I was standing at the kitchen sink shouting at the snow to stop, until I was asked “why are you shouting at the snow, it can’t hear you”.  I had turned into a snow shouter, wonder if that is an acceptable job description for my tax return!

Leave a comment